Best of PubLib TV – Coming Soon!
This week in Best of Publib covers February 15th through February 21st 2010. This week includes PubLib questions about collection development, the value of on-line tutorials and databases , organization of gaming tournaments, and the cause of stress in public libraries. Some of the topics we will be reviewing include:
- Topic » Review sources for academic articles ♦ Laura Miller with the Hennepin County Library in Minneapolis asks for direction – Sara Weissman referenced databases at Hennepin including Academic Search Premiere and Proquest Discovery
- Topic » Computer Classes and Marketing Campaigns for Libraries ♦ SIRLS student Donna Bloch at the University of Arizona requests marketing plans and strategies for computer classes – How do you market your computer classes?
- Topic » Text Reference Services ♦ Jennfier Snelling wants to know if libraries are using text reference services by vendors – Do you use a text reference product?
- Topic » Library Needs Assessment ♦ Sue Compton in Flower Mound TX is investigating the costs and processes for Library Needs Assessments – What guidance can you offer?
- Topic » free presentation ♦ Sheryl Hart in announces the 100th Birthday of the Roanoke, Indiana Public Library – The celebration will include a presentation by Michael Hart of eBooks and Project Gutenberg – Everyone is invited!
- Topic » BTOP & BIP: How to Connect from ALA Washington on Vimeo ♦ Diedre Conkling in Oregon offers ALA multimedia links designed to help explain and facilitate Round II stimulus applications
- Topic » Library Booksales ♦ Frances Walters in South Bend, IN asks for guidance orchestrating Library Book Sales with Library Friends Groups – What works best?
- Topic » Alternatives to Value Line ♦ Jeff Lambert in Monrovia, CA notes high use by few patrons of Value Line and seeks cost-effective alternatives – Which database would you invest in?
- Topic » Chairs ♦ Margaret M. Neill in beautiful Las Cruces, NM is looking for new reading room chairs – What products do you recommend?
- Topic » Book Jobbers ♦ Vicky Brothers in Norfolk, NY would like comparisons of Book Jobbers such as Baker and Taylor – How do you rate the quality of service and condition of materials received?
- Topic » Gaming tournaments in libraries ♦ Sarah Jesudason at the Tigard Public Library in Oregon is facilitating online gaming tournaments for the library patrons – How would you facilitate a tournament?
- Topic » Online Computer Training ♦ Sandra Ferguson at the Herrick District Library in Michigan is comparing on-line computer tutorials including: Atomic Learning, Lynda.com and CBTnuggets – What tutorials do you recommend that offer remote access for patrons?
- Topic » NetLibrary and TLC ♦ Melissa Davidson in at the Staunton VA Public Library is looking at solutions for adding NetLibrary ebooks to TLC catalogs
- Topic » Librarian Beaten in Houston ♦ Janet Lerner offers links a story about what can go wrong even in the best run libraries – Stay safe!
- Topic » Homeless survey for public librarians ♦ Julie Ann Winkestein at UTK is investigating the relationship of libraries and homeless people – What services does you library provide?
- Topic » Wisconsin Federal Broadband Grant Approved, 385 Libraries To Get Fiber ♦ Bob Bocher in Madison, WI gives great news about Wisconsin libraries getting a high fiber stimulus!
- Topic » Random heartwarming story for a Friday ♦ John Richmond in Bartonville, IL offers a library story of community members coming together to help the people of Haiti.
- Topic » Looking at Stress in Public Libraries ♦ Mary Wilkins Jordan at Simmons GSLIS requests your participation in a research survey on the cause of stress in public library workplaces – What causes stress and pressure? – Let Mary Jordan know and take our poll too!
Take our poll!
Please join us on BestofPublib Facebook
The Publib Archives
Filed under: Activity programs, Administration, Adult, Aquisitions, Book lists, Book selection, Budgeting, Cataloging, Children, Circulation, Collection development, Contracting out, Cultural, current topics, Databases, Finance, Friends Groups, Grants, GSLIS, Interlibrary loan, Library Organization, Library Profession, Multimedia, Outreach programs, PACs, Personnel, Proposal writing, Public relations, Public Services, Readers' advisory, Security, Seniors, Software, Technical Services, Technology, Terminology, Web 2.0 / 3.0, Welfare admin, YA | Tagged: Baker and Taylor, BIP, BTOP, eBooks, Horizon, NetLibrary, Project Gutenberg, TLC, Value Line | Leave a comment »